Franklin County Rural Water District #1 Annual Membership Meeting Minutes February 15, 2022

Note: This Annual Meeting and the following regular Board Meeting were held at the First Christian Church Ottawa Kansas, so proper social distancing could be maintained during Covid-19.

PRESENT: Cathy Duderstadt, Nicole Roecker, Karen Walburn, Garrett Taylor, Larry Endicott, Keith McAdoo, Brad O'Dea, David Alderman.

VISITORS: Shannon Humphrey, Gary Clark, Gary Walburn.

CALL TO ORDER:

Chairman Taylor called the Annual Meeting to order at 6:30 pm.

PROOF OF NOTICE OF THE ANNUAL MEETING:

Larry Endicott moved that the District had satisfied all requirements needed to notify membership of tonight's meeting. Keith seconded; motion carried.

3. INTRODUCTIONS:

Chairman Taylor asked everyone to introduce themselves.

4. APPROVAL OF 2021 ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES:

Karen Walburn moved the minutes from last year's annual meeting be approved as presented. Larry Endicott seconded; motion carried.

STATE OF THE WATER DISTRICT REPORT:

Tom Wilson District Operator presented his report virtually, due to his current Covid infection.

- * For all practical purposes new digital meters have been installed District-wide.
- * New mixer in tower, big help to stabilize chlorine levels.
- * Slow but improved water loss within the District due to leak fixing, and lower flushing needed to get chlorine levels back up.
- * Continue to work with County Commissioners on Tennessee Road extension.
- * Progress being made providing City of Wellsville second source of water.
- * New contract with the City of Ottawa progressing.
- * Leak detection for membership much improved with the new meters, and the records available.

6. OLD BUSINESS:

There was no old business.

7. NEW BUSINESS:

Chairman Taylor presented the 2022 budget, forecast expenses, and new rate increase.

He addressed any questions and comments. No vote was needed.

Chairman Taylor presided over the election of two directors. Garrett Taylor and David Alderman both had terms expiring but both were willing to run again. Chairman Taylor asked for nominations from the floor, and Gary Clark indicated that he would run, that in fact he had been on the board in the past, so he knew something about what was required. Ballots were distributed, collected, and counted. Garrett Taylor and David Alderman were reelected, and Gary Clark was thanked for his willingness to run. Brad O'Dea made a motion to make the election results official and in the minutes, Keith McAdoo seconded, motion carried.

Chairman Taylor asked if there were any other questions or comments from anyone present. There were none.

8. ADJOURNMENT:

Larry Endicott moved to adjourn at 6:55 pm. Karen Walburn seconded; motion carried.